Most of us are not very Familiar with the Home based eagles as much as the The main Super Eagles filled with the star names. But the fact remains that 1 or 2 of these Home based super eagles players may yet find their way in to Gernot Rohr’s Final Team to Russia if they impress well enough. Now the CHAN nations cup is upon us which is a tournament for strictly home based players. Who and who has made the final cut?

Coach Salisu Yusuf answered that question with his release of 23 players of the Super Eagles B squad, for this year’s African Nations Championship (CHAN), which kicks off in Morocco on January 12.

Goalkeeper and skipper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, midfielder Rabiu Ali of Kano Pillars and Nigeria Professional Football League (NFPL) top scorer from last season, Anthony Okpotu, all make the cut.

The two other goalkeepers included are Dele Ajiboye of Plateau United and Theophilus Afelokhai of Enyimba, with late call-up Nasarawa United’s Suraj Oyeleso dropped.

Defenders Osas Okoro, Stephen Eze and Kalu Orji Okogbue also made the squad, as well as midfielders Ifeanyi Ifeanyi and Ekundayo Ojo and forwards Sunday Faleye and Emeka Atuloma.

The players and officials are expected to fly out of the country in a few days, to continue preparations ahead of their first game against Rwanda on January 15.

Nigeria will also play 2014 champions Libya on January 19, before facing Equatorial Guinea January 23.


Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Oladele Ajiboye (Plateau United); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Osas Okoro (Rangers International); Daniel James (Plateau United); Kalu Orji Okogbue (Rangers International); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Abdullahi Musa (Wikki Tourists); Timothy Danladi (Katsina United); Ifeanyi Nweke (Kano Pillars); Stephen Eze (Kano Pillars)

Midfielders: Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Augustine Oladapo (Enyimba FC); Ekundayo Ojo (Sunshine Stars)

Forwards: Emeka Atuloma (Rivers United); Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars); Eneji Moses (Plateau United); Ibrahim Mustapha (Enyimba FC); Emeka Ogbuh (Rivers United); Sunday Faleye (Akwa United); Nura Muhammed (El-Kanemi Warriors); Okechukwu Gabriel (Akwa United)

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.